How To Save Your Day With A Building Blocks Schedule

Corinna Hagen
3 min readJul 27, 2020
A Building Blocks Schedule using the Tetris approach.

Tuesday morning. Monday was phenomenal. You got so much done. Tuesday is going to build on it. You head to the doctor. You managed to get that precious first appointment. You’ve set aside 30 minutes for that visit, but find yourself on the way home over 90 minutes later. Ugh. You had planned other things during that time.

Your schedule just got hijacked. What now?

Are you a planner? I am. Planning the next day is important. It gives me structure and allows me to focus by allowing myself to “switch off” all the items running in my head that are not scheduled for the current time block.

I have practiced and refined my approach so it helps me to work in my area of strength and keep my weaknesses in check. But even years of practice won’t keep you or me safe from the unforeseen. We have to allow room for delays. Unforeseen things happen.

Sometimes we underestimate how long it takes us to accomplish a task. How do adjust when that happens? Let me share a simple idea with you.

Remember Tetris? Use A Building Blocks Schedule To Smash It.

--

--

Corinna Hagen

Founder of Zaradigm.com, an executive communication firm. I write about leadership and business communication 1 x month in the “Leading Choices” newsletter.